× Forum Header

stepconfig wizard with gecko 320x

More
10 May 2011 21:54 #9702 by paul11
Hi everyone,
I have an old analam conversion and I am setting up emc controls. I decided to go with the gecko drives because I am new to this and find the stepconfig wizard is very easy for me to understand. I have sem servo motors, I removed the tachs and installed amt102 encoders, and hooked them up to the 320x drives and a simple breakout board. Using software step generation. It works very well (about 300ipm). My question is in step config axis configuration (motor steps per revolution) and ( microstepping) I have set the encoders for 1000(ppr)squared, quadrature decoded should be 4000 (i'm not really sure on that) I used a value of 1000 in the step per rev. box and microstepping value of 1, does this sound right I am a little confused I have not found anything in the manuals on these settings with the servo drives.

Any Help clearing the fog would be a great help
Thankyou Paul11

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 May 2011 22:38 - 10 May 2011 22:39 #9704 by BigJohnT
The G320 is an open loop drive ie. the control (EMC) only gives step and direction signals to the G320 and the encoder is connected to the G320. What this means is you have to know how many steps it take to move one user unit.

In a closed loop system the drive gets velocity and direction from the drive and gets feedback from the servo usually a tacho to know if it is keeping up. The control gets feedback from the encoders so the control knows where the servo is.

Just curious what Anilam model your converting? I have an upcoming 1100M to convert...

John
Last edit: 10 May 2011 22:39 by BigJohnT.

More
10 May 2011 23:44 #9709 by paul11
Hi John,