× Forum Header

noob settings questions

More
21 May 2011 13:04 #9968 by ppope357
Hi
I have recently installed emc2 and need some help getting things configured. I am a noob to emc2, as well as diy cnc. I have installed emc2 via the ubuntu 8.04 disc, and plugged this into my driver board. I have tried to run the test movements to see if it works, but the motors do not turn. I need some advice to get the settings right, so I can make my machine work.

I am making a cnc router (a la diycnc.com). I have 3 x nema 23 motors, a system 4c board and driver boards (from www.diycnc.co.uk).

my step conf settings are as follows:

step time - 10000 ns
step space - 500,000 ns
direction hold - 20,000 ns
direction setup - 20,000 ns

jitter 7272

my pin numbers are as in the supplied manual for the driver board - with two exceptions. The manual asks for pin 15 to be input 5. however I was unable to find an input 5 option, so have this as unused. the manual also calls the inputs input 1, 2 ,3, 4 which i have taken to mean the emc2 digital input 0,1,2,3
I realise this may be incorrect - but it seemed worth a try.

steps per rev are 200
microstepping = 0.25
pitch = 1.95

(am using mm btw)

anyway When I turn the pc on and toggle the estop button on emc2, then all the lights on the driver board light up. When I toggle machine power, home each axis then run the trial, the motors do not spin at all.

any help or ideas would be much appreciated!
thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 May 2011 13:16 #9969 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:noob settings questions
Do you have a link to the manual. I assume one is for enabling the drive...

John

More
21 May 2011 13:30 #9970 by ppope357
Replied by ppope357 on topic Re:noob settings questions
hi
many thanks for the quick response. you can find the manual here
www.diycnc.co.uk/html/system4.html

cheers

More
21 May 2011 13:49 #9971 by BigJohnT
Did you configure or disable the charge pump?