Will Raspberry Pi4 work with Mesa 7i80HD via Ethernet

More
23 Mar 2023 15:53 #267367 by Vader

I'm new to all this.
I've seen the linuxcnc rpi4 utube but the pcbs are no longer for sale, I've sent Chris an email and I'm waiting for response.
So.... will the Mesa 7i80HD work via Ethernet.... there aren't many options available.

I'm building a 4 or 5 axis milling machine, I haven't decided which yet due to parts availability, I'd really like a stand alone system.

Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Mar 2023 00:57 #267389 by tommylight

Yes, for sure, but then again RPI's have issues with versions and ...
And i would go with Mesa 7i96S instead, easier to wire and use, can also be extended exponentially with pretty much everything you might need later.

More
24 Mar 2023 01:24 #267392 by Vader
Yes, for sure, but then again RPI's have issues with versions and ..

I'm new to ask this,  I've never used pi before,  it has issues with versions?
And what else?

Tween chips not being available and a really steep learning curve,  it's all so overwhelming.

Thanks for the tip on the 7i96S, hopefully I'll get my head around it all before it sells out....  I don't want to bite off more than I can chew.

More
24 Mar 2023 10:32 #267403 by tommylight
Start with Mesa 7i96S and a used PC.
Evenused PC might have issues, but they are cheaper.

More
04 Apr 2023 12:00 #268256 by Vader
I need to learn Pi and Linux at some point anyway as I'm going to mashed a DIY Autopilot for my sailboat as well.
I read somewhere that Linux cnc will not work on an 8gb pi, is that right? Something about it limiting even the 4gb pi to 3gb because of the WiFi etc. Or has Linux cnc been changed since that info was written?

More
04 Apr 2023 12:19 #268258 by Vader
Will a raspberry pi400 work? I read that they are just a modified rpi 4 with a cooking fan....

More
04 Apr 2023 12:24 #268259 by tommylight