Help getting started Kinematics

More
19 Apr 2015 00:48 #57881 by OOOVincentOOO
Hello,

Sorry I am a newbee (hobby) user of LinuxCNC and Linux/Devian.

Last week I sucsesfully transferred my XYZ mill into LinuxCNC. The system is operational: movements, limitswitches etc. Operationally I have the same functionality as my licenced Mach3

The reason using linuxCNC is my wish to use kinematics. I wish to do the following, I want the machine coordinates to compensate for a curvature in the X-axis. So I think I have deal with Forward Kinimatics is this correct?

so something like this:

X=X
Y=Y
Z=Z+ m*cos(n*X)

I did some reading but I din't understand allot of things. Some of allot of questions:

- Do I need to create a new HAL Component (named after my new kinetics file)?
- Where are the HAL components located on debian? Nowhere I can fin the directory: "linuxcnc/src/hal/components". I have no clue where to find the location of the HAL components! sry I am completely new to Linux!
- I have installed the development packages like described in: "www.linuxcnc.org/docs/devel/html/hal/comp.html#_compiling" was this correct to do?
- Do some people maybe have some simple kinematics examples or a walktrough?
- In the ini file I found a reference to: "trivkins". Might it be usefull to use this as a starting point. But I cannot find a file named trivkins.

Hopefully someone can help a newbe and give some ideas. I am a little lost right now. :S

Thank you in advance,

Vince

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Apr 2015 20:16 #57890 by OOOVincentOOO
Hello,

I am al all new user to LinuxCNC and Linux. I have installed my system with the live CD "Debian" . I am able to Run my mill and run some G-Code.

My wish is to make my own kinetics file. I am doing some reading and searching to understand the system and ini files.