Help setting up vfdmod to control Omron MX2 VFD using RS485 usb dongle

More
03 Sep 2023 00:15 - 05 Sep 2023 01:01 #279685 by Markgonz
Hey friends,
I am a total noob at electronics and I spent many weeks reading and trying to understand about linuxcnc.
My DIY mill frame is ready and I have managed to wire the servos to the mesa card and make them move in linuxcnc so that was a small victory.

I have been trying for a while to set up my Spindle to work with Linuxcnc, the VFD is set up and is ready to take RS485 communication.
My setup consists on a intel mini pc, Mesa 7i96s, for ease of wiring I decided to give USB RS485 a try.

I came across the user space vfdmod ( github.com/aekhv/vfdmod/wiki#User-parameter-group ) and seems the easiest to understand, however I can't figure out to make it work yet.
The values for the control of the address, spindle forward, etc I understand I would need to read the VFD manual to put the correct numbers but I haven't been able to find them so I did copy the values from someone else config I saw
I have attached my vfdmod config file if someone can take a look.
At this point I am considering simply turning the spindle on from the VFD manually each time I want to use the mill, since spending too much time trying to make it work from linuxcnc is going to make me go insane LOL

The manual of my VFD is this one: assets.omron.eu/downloads/manual/en/v3/i..._users_manual_en.pdf page 322 I think is were modbus info is.

I also found this video where this guy uses vfdmod to set up his lathe but some steps are missing and he somehow has a list of the values needed for his VFD, anyway the video is helpful to get an idea of what the process looks like.

Thanks a lot in advance.

File Attachment:

File Name: my-config-file.ini
File Size:5 KB
Attachments:
Last edit: 05 Sep 2023 01:01 by Markgonz.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Sep 2023 00:58 #279902 by Markgonz