Mini lathe conversion to CNC

More
31 Mar 2016 05:00 #72437 by tml
Hi all,
I have a Sherline lathe that I would like to convert from manual control to CNC. I have no real hands-on experience with CNC and am hoping that some people here could help me sort out a general plan of what to get in order to implement EMC2 software.
1. Stepper motor: I know that I would most likely use stepper motors because they are fairly inexpensive. Servomotors are great, but as a hobby for now, I don't want to invest too much. My machine will require NEMA 23 size stepper motors.
2. Hardware: Is there a specific motion controller board that you can recommend for running EMC2? There are many choices out there that honestly I don't really know where to start looking. I think I prefer to have one that can process stepper motor encoder signals as well so that it could be operated as a closed loop system.
3. Stepper motor drive: I see the Gecko brand comes up a lot. They also make a 4-axis motor controller. It looks like this controller allows you to directly connect to normal 4-wire stepper motors. I just don't know how well it works with EMC2. It doesn't support encoders connection either, so I guess there's no possibility to turn it into a closed loop system later on.

Please let me know what input you may have...

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Mar 2016 11:43 #72454 by Todd Zuercher
1. (and 3.) If I were building a stepper system I'd seriously consider one of the hybrid stepper setups from Leadshine.
www.ebay.com/itm/Leadshine-Closed-Loop-s...9:g:dxoAAOSwVL1V-OrR
They aren't that much more than an ordinary stepper, but are much better.

2. You don't need any motion controller boards a simple parallel port and breakout board should due. Software stepping with a parallel port should be good enough for a low speed mill. If you needed something fast (like for a wood router with speeds over 300ipm) then hardware stepping might be important.