New Project questions

More
27 Oct 2011 20:14 #14332 by SRT
New Project questions was created by SRT
I have a Cincinnati Milacron turning center actually have 7 of them. I have been lurking on this site for a few weeks and am ready to pull a control off and tackle a retrofit using EMC. I am a machinist and thats it, but I think in time i can learn how to put this into operation with this system. I am ready to start ordering have been on the Mesa site and this is what I have come up with. Any input would be helpful.

1 Piece 5I22
1 Piece 7I33TA
3 Pieces 7I37TA

There are 26 limit switches on this machine alone. Tool turret, swing-up tail stock, travel ect........The bottom line is I need a lot of I/O. I would like a few opinions before I order.

Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Oct 2011 23:23 - 27 Oct 2011 23:24 #14333 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:New Project questions
The 5i22 will give you the extra header for the 4th card and is a standard setup for converting machines. I've used the 5i20 on two machines. They do use 50 pin flat cables so don't forget to order them (one for each daughter card). There are sample configs to get you up and going. A popular pc is the Atom. I have a couple of D525's and they are quite small but give good latency and have one PCI slot. If you have a pc in mind then just boot from the livecd and check the latency. I assume your drives are velocity drives with encoder feedback to the old control, if so it is not too hard to convert. Also, you need 3mm stand offs for the daughter cards (I made mine on my CHNC).

John
Last edit: 27 Oct 2011 23:24 by BigJohnT.

More
27 Oct 2011 23:47 #14335 by SRT
Replied by SRT on topic Re:New Project questions