Controller interfacing for dummies

More
06 Jun 2019 12:37 #136035 by minimax
Hi,

I am into the process of building my first DIY cnc wood router, still working on the design.
In short, it will use steppers, a VFD spindle and be about 3x1.5 meters large. And also be built on a tight budget.
Since I am a linux lad, Iinuxcnc seems to be the perfect controller.

This said I have a big blind spot about motion hardware interface and connectivity. After spending some time wandering around in the information maze I am now lost in confusion. Somewhat because there is more than a decade of Q&A's, and I can't always figure which part of infos are outdated, but mainly because I have little experience in electronics.

I really would appreciate if someone can lead me to any up to date beginner's guide of cnc control interface, that maybe exists somewhere around.

More precisely, since I still have to determine my hardware configuration, I first need to educate myself about the relevant options and their tradeoff's. Keeping in mind my budget limits and the fact that I will use linuxcnc or similar.

For now I am looking at 4Nm 5.5amps steppers with DM860I drivers from "stepperonline" but I am totally lost regarding the breakout board interface or similar external controller needs. I have seen on the forum many talk about mesa products, is it any good for my needs? I mean I would rather not put ferrari wheels on a cart.

Thanks in advance for the help,
Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Jun 2019 12:53 #136036 by Clive S
Are you going to use two motors for the gantry if so you probably need gantry squaring so you will need master 2.8 and a mesa 7i96 or a 7i76e if you want spindle control. These two cards will allow you to use Ethernet cat 5 cable between the PC and the control box.

Or you could you a 7i76 + 6i25 if you wanted to use the pcix slot in the PC.

I am not sure about the 4Nm motors if you are using a rack

More