12V and 5V control board?

More
08 Oct 2022 15:52 #253759 by clayd_lopunk
Hello guys,
i managed to find almost all the necessary signals, to retrofit an old 3 axis machine with linuxcnc.
I'm not very experienced with electricity.
It seems that my inputs are 5V and the outputs are 12V.
Would anyone be able to recommend a card to manage both voltages, or to switch the signals, in order to make them compatible with a card for linuxcnc?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Oct 2022 20:15 #253824 by Bari
Replied by Bari on topic 12V and 5V control board?
Please post more info on what you are trying to do.

Are you using an LPT port with software stepping or a Mesa card?

Which drives and types of motor are you using?
The following user(s) said Thank You: arvidb

More
10 Oct 2022 07:10 - 11 Oct 2022 06:01 #253851 by Aciera
Replied by Aciera on topic 12V and 5V control board?
@Bari
Maybe I can provide some more info on the topic:
He is using Step/Direction motor drives for stepper motors on a machine he wants to retrofit to linuxcnc. He's been working on figuring out the input and out put signals for the machine since the documentation he's got does not fit his machine.
No decision has been made as to what breakout board or FPGA board to use.

His machine has XYZ , Spindle and a simple rack tool changer.
The old controller uses 16 logic outputs, 8 relay outputs and 24 logic inputs. Not all of those are actually in use but the main hurdle is that the signals are 12V not 5V
So his motor drives expect 12V logic commands (instead of the more common 5V) so he is looking for either a break out board that can provide 12V signals or, since mesa boards can only provide 5V step direction signals, a converter board that is fast enough to convert the 5V Step/Dir signals to 12V.

Since electrical skills are somewhat limited a ready made solution is called for.

The whole tread is over here