C coded dxf to g-code converter, the building process...

More
12 Feb 2019 13:07 - 12 Feb 2019 13:16 #126262 by Grotius
For info.

I made a study for the past 2 day's to try to converse a dxf file into a g-code file with C programming language.
At this moment a few thing's are working. See my comments inside the read.c file for more info.

I have good hope, when the project is some time ahead, we can make great profit of this code.
Trough the compiling the code works really fast. Python scripting is not my thing, so that's why i started in C.

Feel free to make suggestion's about my coding style. I am just learning C.

Here a drawing of type dxf, also attached :

Informative terminal output during file conversion :

G-code ouput example :

** the attached read.txt has to be renamed to read. It is the executable file. Terminal command : ./read

To test this code, see intro section of read.c
Be sure all files are in the same directory.
Be sure all file names are : read.c read.dxf

Have fun !
Attachments:
Last edit: 12 Feb 2019 13:16 by Grotius.
The following user(s) said Thank You: tommylight

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Feb 2019 15:02 #126268 by pl7i92
There is a DXF2Gcode Plugin for Linuxcnc
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grotius

More
12 Feb 2019 16:18 #126282 by Grotius

More
12 Feb 2019 23:20 #126303 by Grotius
Okey,

Tonight i have tested some cosinus and sinus functions in c for converting dxf arc's to g-code arc's.
I did not know the c language is working standard with radian's.
I expected normal degrees. Even my linux on board calculator was set in radian's.
Okey i must make a conversion strike for cosinus and sinus in C.

When the arc section is finished, it hopely can be called a very powerfull arc/polyline tool. I do not segmentate polylines into short lines. So the import is 1:1 without segmentation. Full arc's !!

More
13 Feb 2019 15:06 - 13 Feb 2019 15:09 #126347 by Grotius
Hi,