Solid State Relay Advice

More
29 Jul 2011 04:16 #11977 by aaron.signart
This is my first post, and to celebrate this occasion I have what I hope to be a "noob-worthy" question.

But first I would like to say EMC2 is totally freakin awesome! I have been studying EMC2 for 3+ years now, on and off in my spare time, along with all things related to the design, manufacture and integration of motion control systems etc. Finally last year I had the funding to build the 3axis Gantry Router for our sign shop that I had been studying and collecting parts/ raw materials for all this time. EMC has worked flawlessly since the very first time I hooked up a motor to it. Stepconf made setup breezy, dare I say an enjoyable experience! Axis GUI is brilliant. The stability of Linux rtos is unrivaled. So special thanks to the guys who have contributed, and continually dedicate countless hours to keeping this ever expanding invaluable tool alive and free. And thanks to everybody else for sharing your experiences. I look forward to giving back to the community in whatever way I can in the future (I got some skills) Thanks for reading.

So now for my potentially dumb question
Can I run a Crouzet GRD84130111 Solid State Relay w/ 4-32VDC inputs, from the parallel port to power on and off my spindle?
The "spindle" is a PorterCable 120V 10.0A power tool. Rated output on GRD SSR 48-650VAC 35A
Full Crouzet specs here (page 1-7) stevenengineering.com/Tech_Support/PDFs/44SOLID_IO.pdf

I think this should work, but I haven't tried it. Any thoughts?

Thx
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jul 2011 12:26 #11986 by andypugh
The answer is "probably"

It depends on whether the actual current taken by the control input is anywhere near the maximum listed (10mA) and whether your parallel port can hold >4V at whatever current the relay takes.

I powered the VFD on my lathe through a SSR wired direct to the parport, and that worked fine.