joint 0 limit error - setting up debounce.

More
31 Jul 2011 21:56 #12062 by whampoo
:angry:

Hi All,
I have been working on my gantry router now for about 2 months and its completed except for the limit switches. I added them 2 weeks ago and have been fighting with EMC to get them to work since. I haven't work with Linux for over 8 years so I am very rusty when it comes to configuring EMC and what exactly I am supposed to be adding to the Mill files. I have 2 switches for each axis. X,y and Z. I tried some of the suggestions in the Forums with no luck. Unfortunately what I did read may as well have been written in Chinese, I didn't understand one piece of the information out there. I would suppose its fine for people who understand and work with CNC machines all day but I do not, yet. So if someone could explain in plain English what the setting actually do and the correct format and file they need to put in that would greatly appreciated. I am using the latest version of ubuntu and EMC. My x axis is on switch 1 para port 10; y axis is on sw-2 and para port 11 and z on 3 and port 12. Each time I tried to make a change EMC would fail to start claiming the port was already configured or the switch was set to something else. I have no hair left to pull out ... thanks for any help you can offer. I can't seem to get debounce to work at all, when EMC finally starts the switches are either disabled or debounce is not filtering anything

Thanks again
Joel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jul 2011 22:27 #12063 by cmorley
It would help if you posted you config files.

More
31 Jul 2011 22:30 #12064 by Rick G
Hello,

I take it that the machine works O.K. without the limit switches.

Have you looked at

Machine

show Hal configuration

To see what pins are in use, which are inputs which are outputs and to check if they are working?

Check your wiring and see if signals are working or if they need to be inverted?

Rick G

More