Getting feedback from digital caliper?

More
04 Sep 2011 07:43 #12947 by yaqwsx
Hello,
I'm new to the whole EMC Linux and I have a few questions. I want to build my own hobby CNC. I don't like using stepper motors without any feedback. I have got few old digital calipers with data output. I'd like to use them, but I have no clue how to set up EMC. I've read wiki and documentation, but there's nothing. At least I haven't found it.
My idea is that I need MCU which reads data on serial line from caliper and sends them on parallel port to PC.

Is possible to use caliper as feedback for EMC?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Sep 2011 08:06 - 04 Sep 2011 08:13 #12948 by cncbasher
their are many articles on the web for conversion of the caliper data to RS232 , so obtaining the data should not be too difficult ( i have seen both for use with pic or arduino )
although thier are different BCD protocols in use depending on the make of caliper , chinese scale protocol & digimatic ( digimatic are unique to their own but it is documented )

although i would think that some additional programming would be needed to bring them into EMC
via the serial port , i doubt with everything else using the parrell port would not be a good idea

you may also find that they are just not robust enough to stand cnc work , fast moves for example could give wrong results as the scales cannot read fast enough to hold the position data correct
i'd suggest that you use glass scales instead
Last edit: 04 Sep 2011 08:13 by cncbasher.

More
04 Sep 2011 09:47 #12951 by yaqwsx
Thanks for answering me. Obtaining data or transforming of them shouldn't be a problem for me. I also don't worry about the calipers speed or data corect. It's not really a caliper, it's a gauge from an old CNC. I was thinking about parallel port because everybody on this forum says "Serial port is for real-time slow".