Hello I am new here

More
25 Jul 2012 18:01 #22461 by kmrs75
Hello I am new here was created by kmrs75
Hi there

I just wanted to introduce myself and off course ask some questions.

My name is ken I am new to the cnc world but i am not new to linux and other coding.

I helped build a linux program for HPGL code (vinyl cutters and engravers). We use the program everyday in our business.

I have used that program to design and make shirts banners and signs for different linux groups.

I have wanted to get into the cnc field for some time now. I finally am able to. I acquired a home made CNC machine last week and I hope to get it to work.
It has geck drives G320 and motors and encoders from Globe Motors the encoders are AVAGO TECHNOLOGIES - HEDS-5500#A06

This CNC has never work from what i was told everything is new. It has been sitting for a few years.

I have gone thru the setup from geck and i am not sure if I did it right the voltages dont look that great when i do my testing.

as of right now i turn it on and it starts to move and will not stop. i think its the encoders that are bad. how could i test them to verify that?

Thanks ken

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jul 2012 19:07 #22462 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:Hello I am new here
Which voltages are you referring to?

Did you follow the steps here ?

Do you have the step and direction inputs connected and LinuxCNC in control before you power up the servos?

It appears that the G320 uses open ended connections so make sure you A and B are connected to the G320 and not the A~ and B~ or whatever they are marked.

You could connect the encoder to the parallel port I think and provide a 5v power source for the encoder power.

Do you have a photo of your setup?

John

More
25 Jul 2012 20:18 #22463 by kmrs75
Replied by kmrs75 on topic Re:Hello I am new here
Which voltages are you referring to?.... voltage from encoder to controller to see if it is working correct