Joypad confusion.

More
16 Oct 2012 21:03 #25385 by 109jb
Joypad confusion. was created by 109jb
Let me start out by saying I know next to nothing about doing any kind of custom setup in linuxCNC but I am willing to learn and hope I can get some help. I have LinuxCNC running on a 3-axis mill and right now I am just using keyboard and mouse to input into the software. I figured a way to start learning some of the in and out of linuxCNC would be to set up a joypad for the machine and customize the button settings and such. I will first get the thing set up and working before I move on to modifying the controls.

I tried doing a search on how to install a joypad, but I find multiple ways to do it. It also looks as if some of the methods were originated some time ago and the pages not updated in a long time. Also, being a newbie I find some of the stuff a bit confusing. What I am trying to figure out is if there is a certain preferred method to implement a joypad and if the instructions for that method are current. A step by step, or "Joypads for dummies" would be great but I just can't seem to find it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Oct 2012 21:08 #25386 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:Joypad confusion.
I wrote this one and it is still current and up to date.

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Simple_Remote_Pendant

John

More
16 Oct 2012 21:47 #25387 by 109jb
Replied by 109jb on topic Re:Joypad confusion.
Thanks. That is one of the ones I found. Just wanted to make sure I had a good and current set of instructions to start from. I'll be giving it a go.

One more question. In the house I use the linuxCNC simulator on my laptop to play with stuff. I assume this will work on the sim right?

Thanks much

More
17 Oct 2012 07:15 - 17 Oct 2012 07:16 #25396 by Rick G
Replied by Rick G on topic Re:Joypad confusion.
I also use John's and would recommend it.