Getting started with image processing and Linuxcnc

More
28 Nov 2012 16:44 #27035 by Storken
Hello, I'm a last year electronics student - next year I'll start my master within instrumentation (sensor techniques).

Recently I've built myself a 5W laser soldering station. I want to CNC controll this. Together with it - I want the machiene to pick up the component, to be soldered, and place it on the PCB. I'm therefore looking at a 'Pick and Place' + soldering machiene.

I'm knowledgeable within general microcontrollers, worked a lot with Atmels AVR's series. I've done some motor controll, data transmission and programming (everything in c++, some assembly). What I'm missing is knowledge within camera software processing and how to setup a cnc (but there's good manuals for that ;))

As for hardware, this is what I picture.
- 350mm x 400mm Pcb work area.
- Component 'presenter' will fetch the next component to be placed - placing the component for camera scanning.
- Solder-paste dispenser or solid core solder (being presented to the laser beam nearly instantly melts it).
- Temperature controller, so that the laser overheat stuff.

The plan is quite a huge project, the gantry will feature three different workheads; Pick and placer, laser solderer and the camera module. Making everything work together will be a huge undertaking, so the first goal is to make the laser solderer work alone.

Any resources and general tips will be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Nov 2012 21:06 #27042 by andypugh
Is the camera intended to locate the board and align to it, or to locate the pads too?

Most of your project sounds straightforward other than the vision part. I suggest starting there and seeing if you can find a way to convert image data into HAL pins.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Storken

More
28 Nov 2012 21:10 #27044 by ArcEye
Hi

Sounds a interesting project

For starters have a look at