Using the serial port for a G-code function in EMC

More
05 Dec 2012 13:43 - 05 Dec 2012 14:46 #27229 by RayC
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to alter a Sherline mill to act as an automatic dispenser. I have an automatic dispensing controller with a four pin i/o. I wish to try to connect this to the CPU through the serial port (intermediary circuit?) and make it dispense on a G-code command from EMC2.

You must forgive my lack of expertise as I'm quite new to this.

I guess what I'm asking is where is the best place to start finding information regarding this or the best way to attack the problem. Would you use the serial port? The Sherline board I have has only X, Y, Z, A drivers and no extra i/o's, and uses the computer printer port.

Any help with this is muchly appreciated.

Ray

Edit: Primarily, I just need to get a signal from the serial port using EMC2 and a Gcode command. This could be for example M07 or M08 (usually coolant and flood), and M09 to turn off the dispenser.
Last edit: 05 Dec 2012 14:46 by RayC.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Dec 2012 16:47 - 05 Dec 2012 16:50 #27231 by cncbasher
take a look at this thread
linuxcnc.org/lucid/emc2/index.php/englis...wserial-port?start=6

the other way would be to use the arduino and USB theres a few threads on the forum

linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/forum/18-...uxcnc?start=36#26528
Last edit: 05 Dec 2012 16:50 by cncbasher.

More
05 Dec 2012 18:00 #27242 by cmorley
Do you wish just to use the serial port to 'bit-bang' the I/O
If I remember correctly you can output on 3 pins and input on 4 without using the serial protocol.
The only thing not so nice is the voltage level of on and off are positive and negative.
You would need a conversion circuit (not much) and probably build a HAL module (again not much)
or maybe a script file called by a custom gcode?

I'm sure I have an old article about doing this somewhere.....