How to prompt a user for input to set a variable

More
13 Jan 2013 12:34 #28642 by forbes_rl
Hi all,

I am fairly new to Linux CNC and am converting some lathe g-code...one thing I can't figure out is how to prompt the operator for input.

What I want to do is:
1) pause the program, e.g. with M00
2) measure the part diameter with a micrometer
3) based on the measurement, re-set the G92 offset so the actual and displayed diameter are the same
4) continue program execution

In the previous system I used, the GUI would let you change the tool offsets when the program was paused, but the Axis GUI doesn't seem to allow that; at least the touch-off controls on the Manual Input tab are disabled if the program is running, even if paused. In yet another system I used to use, there was a special G-Code that would pop up a dialog into which the operator could type a value, which would set a variable. The variable could then be used in a subsequent G92 statement in the program to achieve the same effect. I can't see anything like that in linuxcnc. I do see something about custom g-codes can call external programs, but don't see anything about how to get a value back into a variable.

Any suggestions on how this can be done?

Thanks in advance,

Rob

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2013 00:26 #28655 by ArcEye
Hi

Yes this is a problem.
Whilst user M Codes can pass parameters to a script or binary, there is no mechanism for a return value.

A lot of the problem is what is allowed when Linuxcnc is in Auto mode.
It would not matter if the Axis touch off button were enabled, that sets the values via a MDI call to G10 L20 Pnn and you can't make MDI calls in Auto mode

So likewise you cannot do a G92 call to adjust your offset whilst in Auto mode.

There is hope, the 2.6~ master version has mechanisms for passing values in named parameters, that can be used in G Code as part of the G code remapping.