About Spindle Encoder

More
08 Feb 2013 13:23 #29782 by Pradeep.Jadhav
Dear All,

I am New to Linuxcnc.I have 4 axis milling machine. I want to use spindle in synchronize mode with all other axis feedrate. Is it possible in linuxcnc. What type of Encoder needed for spindle. Dual Phase singal channel (A phase and B Phase). or Differential Type ( A+, A- and B+, B-) :whistle: . which encoder is supported by linuxcnc.
need your help.
Regards
Pradeep jadhav

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Feb 2013 14:29 #29783 by emcPT
Replied by emcPT on topic About Spindle Encoder
I am no expert on Linuxcnc, but the answer for your question I think is both, depending to what hardware you will connect the encoder.
If possible use the differential as it will be less sensitive to noise.

More
08 Feb 2013 17:07 #29785 by cncbasher
Replied by cncbasher on topic About Spindle Encoder

Dear All,

I am New to Linuxcnc.I have 4 axis milling machine. I want to use spindle in synchronize mode with all other axis feedrate. Is it possible in linuxcnc. What type of Encoder needed for spindle. Dual Phase singal channel (A phase and B Phase). or Differential Type ( A+, A- and B+, B-) :whistle: . which encoder is supported by linuxcnc.
need your help.
Regards
Pradeep jadhav

just about any encoder will do for spindle sync , you need at minimum 120 counts and single channel + an index pulse , around a 500 count is ideal
the index pulse is important . these are usualy shown as A+B+I

More
10 Feb 2013 02:12 - 10 Feb 2013 02:16 #29822 by Kirk_Wallace
Replied by Kirk_Wallace on topic About Spindle Encoder
Just to fill in some of the details, LinuxCNC is most compatible with quadrature digital rotary or linear encoders and analog resolvers.
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quadrature_encoder...-track_Gray_encoding
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linear_encoder