adding laser to my router questions

More
24 Apr 2010 00:09 #2662 by cwebs
I would like to make a laser from a DVD burner and chuck it up in the router. Using the router configuration. How should I turn the laser on and off? And what would the gcode be for the laser on and off comand? I assume it would be in place of the Z gcode. I am just getting started to add this to my machine and looking for info to go in the right direction. Thanks Carl

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Apr 2010 10:45 #2667 by Rick G
Try Spindle on and off control M3 M5 also check the quick reference for G codes.

Rick G

More
25 Apr 2010 10:57 #2692 by Rick G
From a previous post speaking of of pen plotter....
Hello,

You might try startting with a xyz. Then edit the z axis. The direction pin should go high or low based on the z direction, up or down. Use the z axis direction pin connected to your break out board to activate a relay to control the solenoid. You could also usa hal to control another pin that activates the relay when z is a negative number. Depending on how you are writing the g code if there can be a spindle on/of command when the pen is raised or lowered you could use the spindle signal and realy to turn the solenoid on and off.

Rick G

More
25 Apr 2010 11:38 #2693 by cwebs
It is looking like the M3 and M5 might be the easiest way to insert the laser on and off. I do have a solid state relay on the router and have a spare one that I can use for the laser. Now to find out haw to make the laser. Thanks Carl

More
26 Apr 2010 19:13 #2722 by cwebs