New to CNC machines, have some questions.

More
17 Oct 2013 14:53 #39996 by leonvnoord
Hello all,

I am new to CNC machines. I have some trouble understanding some parts of how they work.
I have been doing some research, but some things are not clear to me.
My goal is to control a laser cutting machine from an embedded system.

From what I understand, I can let my embedded system generate G-code and then it can be interpreted by a CNC controller like LinuxCNC.
My first question is if this is correct.

My second question is how the G-code is read by CNC controllers. Is this by reading a 'G-code file' or can the G-codes be 'pushed' to a controller, so I would not need an interface for the controller, but only for my embedded system.

I hope you can help me clear things up. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2013 17:55 #40000 by BigJohnT
LinuxCNC uses a file with G code to control the machine.

You could use HAL components to control the machine directly.

JT

More
20 Oct 2013 15:17 #40077 by shopjock
I have a general question.

My DIY machine is 99% complete now. I have used FreeCad to design my first proto-types which will actually just small improvements to make my machine more rigid. Hopefully someone else out there has or is familiar with freecad.

so my question is how do i get linuxcnc to use the freecad file, and generate g-code for my millining machine.

I do also have blender installed but not yet spent any time familiarizing with it.

Do I need to import this freecad file to blender? Or can i Just import directly from linuxcnc using HAL components?

any input would be great.

More
20 Oct 2013 19:53 #40085 by BigJohnT
LinuxCNC needs a G code file not a CAD file to run. Depending on the shape of your part it is often easier to just type the G code file you need. Also often you can use a simple G code generator from the wiki page to generate your G code.

A good primer on G code is on my web site.