A-Axis (4th axis) to use a CNC router as a lathe

More
26 Jan 2014 03:23 #43164 by rmagnus
Hello all:

I am a newbie with a Probotix Comet CNC router and I added a 4th rotary A axis with the rotation aligned to the y axis of my table.

I have been using my comet for some months now with Vcarve pro and manually and it is going great!

But now I need to cut about 30 qty 3" O.D. 2.75" I.D. acrylic cylinders (make them shorter) and need a perfect cut.

I tried many times using a bench saw but the cut is not perfect and I donĀ“t have a lathe.

I am sure it will be perfect with the CNC router as I have been doing perfect cuts on acrylic but with only X Y and Z movements.

I would like to be able to start rotating the A axis and then manually move the x, y, and z axis with my MPG pendant so my router cuts the acrylic as if it was a lathe.

Is there a way to put a button on the GUI screen to start turning the A axis and then adjust the rotation speed before moving the other axis?

Or is there a G10 code I can input on the command line to start the rotation and then I move my router?

Controlling my router as a lathe would allow me to do a lot of stuff

Also, I am using Vcarve pro and would like to be able to cut using the 4th axis to cut round parts. I also have meshcam but I have never used it.

Any help is much appreciated!

THANK YOU!

Rod

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jan 2014 05:19 #43168 by newbynobi
Halo,

if your rotary axis is aligned with the Y axis of your table, it should be an B axis!

But I would recommend to add the B axis as spinlde configuration, then you can start and stop it as required.

Or go to MDI mode and say something like G0 B100000000000

It will turn quiet a while, with additional MDI commands you can move your axis.

Norbert
The following user(s) said Thank You: rmagnus

More
26 Jan 2014 05:33 #43169 by rmagnus
thank you! I will try it. I hope this works at the same time I jog the other axis.

More