Does linuxcnc support USB

More
09 May 2014 00:15 #46727 by Anis
Hi,

I am new to EMC. From the documentation, I found out that EMC works with Parallel port. Does it also support USB?

Best Regards,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 May 2014 00:33 #46728 by cncbasher
Replied by cncbasher on topic Does linuxcnc support USB
USB is not supported at this time.
there is a lot of information as to why located around the Wiki and the Forum .
The following user(s) said Thank You: Anis

More
09 May 2014 00:41 #46729 by Anis
Replied by Anis on topic Does linuxcnc support USB
I'm wondering if there is a solution to make usb card compatible with linuxcnc

thanks

More
09 May 2014 05:08 #46739 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Does linuxcnc support USB

I'm wondering if there is a solution to make usb card compatible with linuxcnc

No, because the USB protocol allows for many milliseconds of delay between data being transmitted and it being received.

You don't _have_ to use the parallel port, there are also PCI, ISA and (experimentally) ethernet interfaces supported.

More
09 May 2014 19:54 - 09 May 2014 19:55 #46755 by DaBit
Replied by DaBit on topic Does linuxcnc support USB

No, because the USB protocol allows for many milliseconds of delay between data being transmitted and it being received.

I hear this every time the subject comes up.
But as far as I know I can do an interrupt transfer 8000 times a second, 64 bytes long on highspeed USB 2.0. And since USB is polling-driven, there is no reason why there would be extra delays or missed transfers when the EHCI controller is under RTkernel control.

Then there are only two issues left with USB:
- Most implementations on mainboards are not too reliable in the hostile environment called 'CNC machine' where VFD's, steppers and servo drives put out a lot of noise.
- As far as I know there is no realtime EHCI controller driver.