Touch probe for metal working

More
25 May 2014 06:20 #47295 by lopataos
Hello Linuxcnc community.
People call me Marko, and I come from Croatia.
I have build my own Mechmate and just upgraded to lienar rails.
I have been using touch probe on my Mach3 for metal, but Mach3 is very unprecise, and I heard good things about this product.
I am willing to give it a go, and want to know is there such an addon for a circle touch probe, and Z height probe.
Here is the link of the probe in action (not my link)

Thanks,

Marko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 May 2014 14:44 #47298 by Rick G
The following user(s) said Thank You: lopataos

More
25 May 2014 15:30 #47299 by lopataos
Hey Rick,

As I am new to linux, and especially linux for CNC, I am wondering can this be used like the on the video I posted?
I only used metal rod attached to dril chuck and it worked out without any other industrial probes?
Thanks again,

Marko

More
25 May 2014 16:07 #47301 by ArcEye
Hi

The video is ingenious but rather Heath Robinson.
All he is doing is centering to a position, which is only as good as his manual and visual centering of the ring over it , in the first place.

There are much better ways to centre on a mark, including centering microscopes, usb camera mounted in the spindle or even just a plain magnifying glass and a sharp centre in the spindle.

The Linuxcnc probe routines are designed for a proper probe, with the switch in the tip of the probe, not using a conductive make between a bit and a piece of copper ring.
So you can easily find the centre of an existing hole for instance to ream it out, even in non conductive material , using the probe, your method is only 'good' for one thing and reliant upon a circuit.

www.linuxcnc.org/docs/devel/html/gcode/gcode.html#sec:G38-probe

The probe need not be an Renishaw industrial one, you can make one with good repeatability quite easily.