Change Linuxcnc axis background colour to White

More
15 Nov 2014 19:15 #53112 by iano
Firstly, thank you ArcEye for such a prompt reply,
I could not find a file named .Xresources, but I did find a Folder named Xresources (no dot in front of Xresources)

It is located in the path: File System/Etc/X11/Xresources.

There is only one file in the folder and that is - 30x11-common_xresources

I opened the file with gedit to see what it was about and there is a line of code referring to xrdb -merge $RESOURCEFILE.

My questions are:
1. Am I in the right location to change the screen colour.
2. If this is the right location, do I change the line of code from xrdb -merge $RESOURCEFILE to xrdb -merge /usr/share/doc/linuxcnc/axis_light_background with gedit

Please bear in mind I am new to both LinuxCNC and Ubuntu so plain step by step instructions will be most helpful.

Regards iano

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Nov 2014 20:27 - 15 Nov 2014 20:29 #53118 by ArcEye
Hi

First off you need to keep on one thread and not keep creating another one for each reply, there are currently 3 threads all with the same title on this.
I can't remember exactly what your first one contained and nor will anyone else.

.Xresources is a hidden file in your home folder, if it does not exist you need to create it
Do not edit the system wide file in /etc/X11

So NO, you are in the wrong place and could reap havoc if you replace a system wide environment variable with something that just relates to linuxcnc.

This is where it gets tricky to explain, I don't use any of the GUI file managers or editors and most will not show hidden files anyway
so will have to go via a terminal.

Open the terminal and cd to your home dir (you are probably taken there automatically but check)

Enter these commands (make sure you have the dot preceding the file name and 2 > direction arrows)

sudo echo -e "\nxrdb -merge /usr/share/doc/emc2/axis_light_background\n" >> .Xresources