SUPER N00B–Mini Lathe CNC conversion

More
02 Jan 2015 01:12 #54467 by SmokeWalker
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post and I have to ask several questions:

I am interested in doing a CNC conversion of my Harbor Freight mini lathe using these plans:
stirlingsteele.com/mini-lathe-cnc-conversion-plans.html

I want to learn to write my own G code and use LinuxCNC to run the programs.

I would also like to buy an inexpensive (laptop for space </= 300 if I can manage it. $200 is better) computer to operate this.

I like the Chromebook, for example, but I'm open to any suggestions.

Also, I have never used Linux before, but I've always been curious, and between the two biggest CNC software choices, Linux or Mach3, I like the idea of using Linux better.

1. What computer would you suggest?
2. What mechanical parts/pieces do I need to allow said computer to talk to machine's motors? What are those called?
3. Will the below "Download Information" install properly?
4. Also, will it change my OS to Debian or will I be still using the Chrome software. I'd like to be able to switch back and forth between Chrome and Linux if it's easy to do so, but it's not a big deal at all if not. This computer will primarily be used to write g code and run it on the machine.

Cribbed from website.

Download Information

LinuxCNC 2.6

The easiest way to make a fresh install of LinuxCNC 2.6 is to use the Debian Wheezy LinuxCNC image. The Debian image is a "hybrid" iso, which means you can use the same iso file for a USB stick or a DVD. The ISO contains a kernel bug fix for some motherboards and the USB port. LinuxCNC 2.6.4 is the version on the ISO. Normally to upgrade you do not download a new ISO but in this special case the kernel was patched so USB would work from the install on the affected motherboards.

Download the ISO
Burn the ISO to a DVD
Check the MD5SUM b515c872335336ccfc96471d66b687d8
Boot with the DVD and test or install.
How to write the ISO to a USB Drive