Hooking up to printer port

More
18 May 2010 20:02 #2896 by JJBrew
I am very new at this so help will be needed some and a lot of patience from the fine people here

I have received some information from the servo drive maker on what pin I should use but since I am not a electrician I am have some trouble with it in EMC you have step / Dir now what one is positive and what is ground
I have pulse 1 with these two I was told to hook up the Step but he said something about common and hook it up to the other
pulse2
Common is this the ground from the case at the printer port where we connect all the unused ports and ground too the case ??????
Sign3 and here I was to hook up Dir and again the other common ,??? Does it matter what one is common

sign4

yes I know I am very new at this and I will get the proper help if needed to do the final hook up

Thanks John

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 May 2010 23:24 - 18 May 2010 23:43 #2897 by BigJohnT
Hi John,

It's usually not the best idea to connect up your drives to the parallel port direct. If you blow the on board parallel port then your shot in the foot so to speak. I use a CNC4PC breakout board when I used the parallel port to drive my Gecko 203v drives. Another way is to use a plug in parallel port card.

Step and direction are two separate pins. The step pin does just that for each off to on or on to off depending on the dive the drive moves the stepper one step or one micro step again depending on the drive. The direction pin tells the drive which way to turn.

What kind of drives do you have?

Sorry for not having a direct answer... parallel ports sink current better than they source so usually the connection is from a positive to the pin.

John
Last edit: 18 May 2010 23:43 by BigJohnT.

More
19 May 2010 11:56 - 19 May 2010 12:03 #2910 by JJBrew