Visual representation of work to do in axis

More
03 Apr 2015 17:09 #57477 by curious
Hi,

Can any of this be done?

I would like a visual view of the plot in the current Z position - in other words, I have a 3D roughing pattern from aspire that is 16 levels deep (it's an easter egg relief), the axis plot screen shows a big mass of white or pink but what I'd like is each of the 16 Z-level passes to be highlighted or 'sliced' so it's apparent on the screen what level it's at. Obviously this only works for 3D roughing where Z is relatively constant but maybe there's an option hidden in the colors that allow something to be done?

Similarly rather than the white/pink is there an option to make the cut lines invisible (rather than pink) so they don't obscure the cut lines yet to be done.

Lastly, is there a way of showing the time taken so far, and an ETA of when it will finish?

Apologies if my terminology is wrong, I'm an enthusiastic beginner!

Thanks,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Apr 2015 02:57 #57494 by BigJohnT
If your using Axis you can control what is displayed in the G code itself.

linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gui/axis.html#_axis_preview_control

You can have an elapsed time meter but the only way to know exactly how long a file takes to run on your machine is to run it.

linuxcnc.org/docs/html/man/man9/time.9.html

JT

More
04 Apr 2015 14:50 #57513 by curious
Thanks...

The preview.hide/show probably won't help - I thought perhaps I could auto-generate it with a program filter but I'm after a way of showing the the plot for each Zlevel, eg:

<press run>
G1Z-1.000F300.0
<show all plots in a dark color>
<show all plots on this Z-level in white>
G1Z-2.000F300.0
<show all plots in a dark color>
<show all plots on this Z-level in white>

I think the hide/show won't help out.