Systematic approach to tracking down latency issue

More
06 Aug 2015 20:10 #61187 by hase
Hi all,

I am fed up.
Actually, I am *very* happy with LinuxCNC and essentially love it.
And that is why I am so thankful for all the work that so many developers are putting in. Big Hug! :cheer:

But latency issues keep driving me mad.
Interrupt: I am a firmware and hardware engineer by profession and I'm using LinuxCNC-driven homegrown milling machines as a hobby: sometimes hacking on bits and bytes isn't cutting it for me; then I need the sound of metal being chipped or the smell and sound of wood made into sawdust.

Anyway.
One of my PCs driving my experimental mill needed an upgrade: I put in an SSD, installed Kubuntu 12.04, installed the rtai kernel and linuxcnc and restored my configurations from a backup.
A failed hard disk made this operation necessary and I used the chance to upgrade to SSD.

This operation beamed me right back to latency hell.
On a machine that I had working just fine with actually good latency values (measured in latency-test).

I would love to do a systematic search for the problem, but I can find no documentation on this.
There are a number of tips-n-tricks type docs like wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?RealTime but is there a systematic approach to find out what caused latency?

When it comes to task-invocation-latency, I am basically in the dark (which feels bad for an engineer :-)

From the RTAI documentation I would assume that once the rtai module is mounted, it takes priority over interupts and task scheduling.

I therefore understand how power-saving features could ruin latency: if the CPU has to wake up from deep sleep before servicing the timer interrupt, that will cause latency. This is why the Core2Duo in one of my machine controllers does benefit from the idle=poll parameter on the command line so much (without idle=poll => unusable, with idle=poll => good latency values mesured).