Progam exceeds machine minimum on axis Y?

More
17 Jan 2016 20:41 #68615 by spinnaker
I am brand new to CNC and Linux CNC. I am slowly trying to wrap my head around all of this. I did some searching and know this question has been asked a million times. In fact there are so many posts it is hard to weed out the information.

Can someone please explain in simple terms what causes this and how to set up my machine to avoid it?

In this case my machine has plenty of Y axis but I still get the error. Did I setup my home position incorrectly? Or point me to something that explains it in fairly simple terms?

I do see how to fix it by setting touch off but I am just guessing as to the value and I wonder if it is the best way to do it in the first place.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jan 2016 21:06 #68617 by Paul
I suspect a few things could be causing this. If it helps, I home my machine and then I center my tool in the lower left corner of the material to cut (if I was above the table looking down on it) and then touchoff. I touchoff before each job after centering over the lower left.

You have to be within the soft limits of your configuration.

HTH
Paul

More
17 Jan 2016 21:38 - 17 Jan 2016 21:39 #68621 by Rick G
Might want to look here...
gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/g-code/mill02.html
gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/g-code/index.html

and
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/coordinates.html

No good short answer, but when you home your machine it is homed in the machine coordinate system G53.
But you do not normally work in the G53 system.
G54 is the default, so after you home your machine jog to where the work piece actually is and "touch off" this will set the coordinate system for the actual work you want to do.

Rick G
Last edit: 17 Jan 2016 21:39 by Rick G.

More
17 Jan 2016 22:22 #68626 by spinnaker