LinuxCNC with MTConnect

More
13 Feb 2016 00:16 #70050 by AtinA
Hi all!

I am working on a project where I need to connect LinuxCNC with MTConnect. I was able to build the agent with the help of the documentation on mtcup.org on my BeagleBone running linux. The beaglebone is running machinekit, which as far as I know is a fork of linuxCNC.

I found an adapter online here for emc: github.com/athulan/adapter

However, I have the following questions/problems/issues:

I tried the "make" command after navigating to the folder containing the adapter for EMC in my Beaglebone and it threw a "fatal error" saying a file called rcs.hh was missing. Can anyone help out with this? Is it even possible to run MTConnect on machinekit/linuxCNC?

I am not a programmer ,unfortunately. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot for your time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Feb 2016 12:03 #70105 by comjon
Replied by comjon on topic LinuxCNC with MTConnect
AtinA,

I am actively working on an MTConnect implementation for LinuxCNC. The C# and Python development on github are most active and therefore you might consider any other code set as a non maintaoned template to be improved upon with your own code.

I recommend you begin by determining what you want to measure. For me, I simply want to present machine state (running, stopped) through a browser. Although this seems simple, it is a concrete, finite goal and places boundaries around the amount of code must write.