How to hard-reset machine position in sim.axis?

More
22 Feb 2016 17:36 #70486 by justice
Newbie here, using the simulator in 2.7.4 to try to get a handle on mixing G92 with G54.

I've somehow managed to get my simulator to believe that the machine position is a couple hundred inches away from the origin. I can't home (error: end of move in home state 5). I can't G00 back to origin (error: Can't issue MDI command when not homed). Deleting the .VAR file didn't help.

How can I completely reset the simulator to factory defaults?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
More
23 Feb 2016 16:56 #70527 by justice
Thanks, but this doesn't actually work. As described above, I can't home the Z axis (maybe the sim is outside its limit switch, so it can't find the home switch?). One can't issue MDI commands without homing. So I really need a way to make the machine completely forget it's persistent state.

More
23 Feb 2016 22:38 - 23 Feb 2016 22:43 #70536 by BigJohnT
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/gui/axis.html#_menu_items
Take a look at Zero Coordinate System.

If you delete the .var file and the backup var file you have no more offsets. I suspect you did not delete the one your ini points to.

JT
Last edit: 23 Feb 2016 22:43 by BigJohnT.

More
24 Feb 2016 02:57 #70552 by justice
Thanks for your continued help, Big John. I tried about four different items in Machine->Zero Coordinate System; they each returned the "can't issue MDI command when not homed."

I am using a canned sim.axis machine called "axis.ini". It points to a VAR file called "sim.var". I shut down linuxcnc and deleted that file (and the .bak) from ~/linuxcnc/configs/sim.axis/. It did not exist anywhere else on the filesystem.

There's no effect, my Z-axis is still ridiculous, and won't home.

Attachments:

More
24 Feb 2016 04:43 #70555 by racedirector