Are my Leadshine DCS810 brushed Servo Drives fake

More
10 Mar 2016 06:58 - 10 Mar 2016 07:01 #71319 by auto-mation-assist
Are my DCS810 the real thing or low quality rip off copies? They all have the Leadshine name on them but Leadshine appears to suggest on their web site that rip off copies are being sold on the internet. The issue for me is a reliability problem with the ones I have purchased and I have no way of knowing if they are the real thing or fake copies. For reference I have more than 40 years’ experience behind me as an electronics technician and many of those years involved large servo control systems. Thus I do my own repairs when parts needed are available and have all required test equipment.

I have purchased a total of 6 Leadshine DCS810 brushed servo drives on Ebay, 80VDC, 20A peak with differential encoder inputs of which only one has survived so far. Some have failed shortly after power on with no motion while others failed during motion. The failed ones have been repaired more than once now by me and the same thing occurs again after a period of time. At least two that arrived appear to have been repaired before I received them due the presence of thermal compound. Usually the failures that I have run into required replacing all four output MOSfets, failed 33 ohm mosfet driver resistors and in some cases the 2003 half bridge drivers. The chip 0.02 ohm current sensing resistor blows up on some, and the 0.05 ohm resistor that is on the DC power input opens on occasion while melting part of the connector next to it and part of the plastic cover. Some of the chips in these units have had their tops ground down a lot to hide their identification markings. Some look like this was done very deep with a dremel tool which likely caused a lot vibration on the inside of the chips. On others it looks like the chip ID was blasted off with blasting media in some fashion..