Poblems configuring Parallel Port Pin 1,14,16 and

More
19 Mar 2016 22:48 #71916 by gadget
Hello,

I'm new to linuxcnc and have a general question on how to set up the parallel port correctly.
What I did so far is to configure linuxcnc with stepconf. So I tested all axis and found out that the x-axis (connected tp port 1 and 14) has no signal.
As next step I ran a CNC program on another computer using windows and it turned out, that the TB6560-3A controller using the parapallport is running fine.
I then stepped back to my linux computer with linuxcnc installed and used ptest to see if the parallel port works as expected.

According to /var/adm/messages, the parallel port (a startech 1 Port ExpressCard IEEE 1284, EC1PECPS) looks like this:
Mar 19 23:13:53 arsaCNC kernel: [    7.901463] parport 0x2000 (WARNING): CTR: wrote 0x0c, read 0x0b
Mar 19 23:13:53 arsaCNC kernel: [    7.901492] parport0: PC-style at 0x2000, irq 18 [PCSPP]
Mar 19 23:13:53 arsaCNC kernel: [    7.901500] parport0: irq 18 in use, resorting to polled operation
Mar 19 23:13:54 arsaCNC kernel: [   12.078001] lp0: using parport0 (polling).

So I changed the configuration in ptest.hal accordingly:
loadrt hal_parport cfg="0x2000 out"
loadusr -Wn PortTest pyvcp -c PortTest ptest.xml
loadrt threads name1=porttest period1=1000000
addf parport.0.read porttest
addf parport.0.write porttest

I then ran
halrun -I -f ptest.hal

As a result, the GUI Window opened and I could measure the output voltage on Ports 2 to 9 according to the buttons I pressed. E.g. pressing in the GUI on Pin 02 I could measure 3.3V at pin 2.
If did that for all pins, but for the pins 1, 14, 16 and 17, I measured only 0.04V.
I hope someone can help me what the expected output signals on those pins should look like.

best regards

gadget

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Mar 2016 06:17 #71935 by Rick G
What mode do you have your parallel port set to?