6 axis DMM servo setup

More
30 Mar 2016 16:29 #72392 by 0jw
6 axis DMM servo setup was created by 0jw
Hello to everyone in the forum.
This is my first post and im new to LinuxCNC. I'm hoping someone can give me some insight on this. I am trying to find out what might be the best option for a 6 axis DMM-Tech servo setup. Iv looked into the anything I/O mesa cards but im going to be using 2 of the DMM breakout boards as its only 4 axis and I might wont to add more functionality later on. I was looking at the 7I80DB cards but don't wont to use Ethernet if I can help it. I have a dell I got for free that has a Foxconn G33M02 motherboard with 2x PCI slots and 1 PCIe and 1 PCie x16. the Ethernet is 10/100Mb/s so I think the 7I80DB could work. Iv came across a lot of posts of people having trouble with 2 parallel ports on 2 PCI slots. Any advise on this would be very appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Mar 2016 17:10 #72400 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic 6 axis DMM servo setup
If you have PCI slots then it is hard to suggest anything other than the 5i25 + 7i77 combo from Mesa.

store.mesanet.com/index.php?route=produc...83_87&product_id=120

To use the DMM tech servos make sure you get the DYN4 drive as that has a +/-10V interface compatible with the 7i77.

You _could_ use a 7i76 and the step-dir interface to the servos, but that isn't quite so flexible and the 7i76 only supports 5 step/dir channels.

The 7i77 spec is here: store.mesanet.com/index.php?route=produc...83_87&product_id=120
The PCI plug-and-go kit is here: store.mesanet.com/index.php?route=produc...83_84&product_id=214

But you might get things faster from: mesaus.com/index.php?route=product/produ...ath=69&product_id=79
The following user(s) said Thank You: 0jw, podarok

More
31 Mar 2016 08:59 #72444 by 0jw
Replied by 0jw on topic 6 axis DMM servo setup
Thank you andyugh for your response and advice.