what is easiest way to upgrade (I have am64 CPU)

More
01 Apr 2016 05:03 #72503 by numbskull
I had LinuxCNC 2.5.0 on my machine for a year or more. It did okay for my purposes. I was away then came back and I had rodent damage to some wiring so I decided to upgrade after fixing the hardware. I downloaded and tried the new 2.7.4 iso via a USB flash drive. It got part way thru and hung. I tried several times with slight variations (from Graphical install) and it never made it thru. It hung/errored-out. I had done a reformat in case that had been an issue. I loaded Win7/64 just fine as a system test. I loaded Debian 7.9 (64) okay. But then I saw something on a forum post or somewhere that, as I understand it (I am not good with Linux), said that 2.7.4 would not install or run on an AM64 CPU or 64 bit Linux. So now I'm hung up with nothing working/running.

So, what is the easiest way to get up and running (with this AM64 CPU) with something later than 2.5.x ? The PC is not connected to any network; I use "walknet" (a USB stick) to carry files out to my workshop. I'm guessing that some sort of ISO or "Live" version would be easiest, yes/no? I could probably get a Debian 7.x or 8.x back on it. Or an ISO with "all in one iso" could be easier if it exists. I really don't care if it is all 32 or 64 bit so long as it is at least as good or better than 2.5.x.

What would you guys suggest? And, where do I get it (download from) ? And what's the detailed procedure ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Apr 2016 11:47 #72561 by BigJohnT
What version of Ubuntu are you running now? If you have 10.04 you can upgrade to LinuxCNC 2.7.4 without upgrading the OS.

JT

More
02 Apr 2016 15:31 #72570 by numbskull