How interpreter tracks machine position

More
01 Apr 2016 22:02 #72533 by joshuadickerson
Hello,

I am new to LinuxCNC and really interested in how it works. From what I understand, LinuxCNC uses a standalone interpreter that issues canonical commands to a machine controller, usually with a 1:1 correspondence to what a typical commercial controller board might accept. My question is, does the interpreter maintain its own awareness of the machine controller's position? When issuing canonical commands for linear coordinated motion, does the interpreter use the previously specified words from the user as the starting point, or the current machining position?

Say we have the following situation with a linear delta machine.

1. Machine powered on.
2. Machine homed. New machine position is (0,0,585) in millimeters.
3. "G0 Z 20" command issued.
4. Machine rehomed.
5. "G0 Z 40"

At step 5, does the machine move from (0,0,585) to (0,0,40), or does it move from (0,0,20) to (0,0,40)?

My intuition tells me that to be consistent, it would have to always use the current machine position, instead of the last specified axis words. It still seems like interpreter would need to know the current machine position, since it is not necessary to specify an axis word if that coordinate hasn't change. But I could be wrong.

Say we issue "G0 X 10 Y 20 Z 30" and then later "G0 Z 0". How would it go from just receiving a "change Z coordinate to 0" to issuing a canonical command like STRAIGHT_FEED(10,20,0,0,0,0)

This also implies the machine controller has to keep track of the current position because the canonical commands do not have a starting coordinates. How does LinuxCNC keep the interpreter's machine position consistent between the two? Say the machine is jogged via the HMI, obviously this doesn't go through the interpreter. Through callback functions?

Can anyone point me to the answer or help me sort this out? Any help would be greatly appreciated!