Feed rate priority on rotary and linear axis?

More
15 Mar 2017 04:14 #89646 by nwimpney
I have recently added a rotary table set up as a 4th axis on my machine and I noticed that the feed rate on the rotary axis is not limited by the F term in a simultaneous Z and A move.

If I do a G1 A100 F100, I get the expected 100 degrees at 100 degrees/min (The move takes 1 min)

If I do a G1 Z10 F100, I get the expected 10mm move over 6 seconds.

If I do G1 Z10 A100 F100, I would expect it to scale to the slowest move, and take 1 min, but instead it runs the rotary table at 1000deg/s to match the 6 seconds of the Z move.

Is this how it's supposed to work, or is it a bug?

I am pretty new to writing g-code, so I may be doing some things strangely because don't know any better.

In this particular instance, I was planning to cut a 200mm circle at 200mm/min while ramping down at a rate of 2mm per rotation of the table.
It seems very strange to have to call for a feed rate of 6.2mm/min to get a feed of 200ish at the cutter, but I can't actually think of any other way to do a large helix at that speed.

-Nick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Mar 2017 12:44 - 15 Mar 2017 12:48 #89658 by Todd Zuercher
Yes, that is the expected behavior.
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/machining-c...r.html#sub:feed-rate

Maybe a better option to do what you are trying to, is to use G93 inverse time feed.
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/g-code.html#gcode:g93-g94-g95
Last edit: 15 Mar 2017 12:48 by Todd Zuercher.

More
15 Mar 2017 18:18 #89679 by nwimpney
Cool, thanks for the link, and the suggestion.

Inverse time saves the last step in the math, but I can't see the point in switching to inverse time for one move. By the time I've calculated how long I need the rotation to take to give me the needed feed rate at the tool, it's not that much of an extra step to calculate the feed rate which will make the Z move take that full length of time.