VFD for spindle

More
09 Nov 2017 12:54 #101547 by Jorgefv
VFD for spindle was created by Jorgefv
HI I'm still a noob but in the process of retrofitting a woodworking cnc router, it is a weeke BP10, I run into a problem with the VFD, that it has completely failed, the machine has 4 motors, 3 are intended for drilling I think and are just on and off and there is a 8Kw 16500 rpm 220V/380V that is controlled with a VFD that is faulty, it shows over current error even when there is nothing connected to it.
I couldnt see the brand or part number because they are in a really tight place.
I think I should buy another VFD.

My question is what kind of VFD do I need?, or I just could use a regular VFD like the ones used on regular motors or there is something special for spindle control?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Nov 2017 14:50 #101559 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic VFD for spindle
I don't think there is anything special about a VFD used for spindle controls other than the fact that the often need to be able to output frequencies about 50x higher than what a "normal" motor uses. The drives I've used have all been able to do it. Just be sure to get something rated for the voltage, current and frequency that your spindle needs, and nothing too cheap and crappy.

Sometimes failed VFDs can be easily repaired, by replacing bad caps or rectifiers. It probably is worth your time to pull it out, take it apart and see if you can tell what failed.

More
10 Nov 2017 17:06 #101620 by Jorgefv
Replied by Jorgefv on topic VFD for spindle
I powered the VFD and tried to check it with an oscilloscope but before I could do anything magic smoke escaped, I will still try to fix it but I don't have so much hope now.
I took out the dust hood that was covering the name plate of the motor so I could see more.

it is a emod brand model VFK 63-2-140 4KW 220v on delta and 380 on y configuration it has 16500 rpm.
and also it sais 300Hz