How to Control Digital Outputs

More
05 Dec 2017 06:36 #102691 by MattMethods
Hi guys,

I'm still relatively new to LinuxCNC.

I'm currently using a leadshine mx3660 driver to control three stepper motors for a university project.

Ideally I want the ability to automatically take a photo of the progress of the experiment after each iteration.

The electronics guy at uni has wired up a FET switching system that closes a switch when a voltage is applied to the input. He tested it with an arbitrary power supply, and it was able to take photos with a camera with no issue.

However, I have currently been unable to operate this device with the digital outputs on the leadshine mx3660. I have selected digital out 1 for pin 17 in the stepconf wizard, as seen in the photo, which is connected to output 1 according to the driver manual.

In the .hal file, it even has the following lines:

net dout-01 <= motion.digital-out-01
net dout-01 => parport.0.pin-17-out

I was using this G-code to operate it:

G4 P1
M64 P1
G4 P0.3
M63 P1

However this has not worked.

The switch has an LED light as well which should light up when a voltage is applied to it, so I have used the following G-code to test it as well to no avail

G4 P1
M64 P1
G4 P10
M65 P1

Is there something obvious that I'm missing to be running the digital output? Because I'm not sure of what else to do to make sure the M64/65 codes work.

It is worth noting that when I hit run for the first time, I did hear the camera shutter when the motors started (not when it was programmed to), but it did not take a photo as it had in the past. So there is the potential that the box is broken too, but I wanted to check I had all the programing correct to begin with. I will be checking with the electronics guy tomorrow whether there is an issue with the box.

Any help will be really appreciated! If there's anything I've left out, please shoot :)
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More