Thoughts on using a standard low-latency Kernel?

More
13 Feb 2018 01:42 #105806 by blazini36
First I'll say that I'm not really a fan of Wheezy or the Ubuntu distributions that LinuxCNC comes packed with. WHich is pretty much the reason I endure the headache of installing and making it work under other distros.

I setup a previous PC with linuxcnc and a mesa 7i76e on LMDE2. This was mostly for testing but everything more or less got ironed out and worked well. On this system I patched a 4.9 kernel with preempt_rt. This was one of those little industrial PCs and unfortunately the CPU and GPU were a little slow for some of the image processing that needed to be done as well.

I just set up a new system with an AMD APU and Mint 18.3 that should be quite a bit faster. I haven't gotten to LinuxCNC on it yet but I just started playing with that same kernel and I'm having issues with it running graphics in software rendering mode, this does not seem to be the case in mints 4.10 generic kernel. I'm no Kernel Guru So I reached out on the Mint forums to see if somebody could point out what I may have missed in menuconfig.

A poster questioned why I would want to use an RT kernel over a stantard low-latency kernel that is better supported. My only real answer to that is all the other LinuxCNC guys do it. I understand the purpose of RT but I can't say I know how it would compare to a low-latency kernel. I also believe that the Mesa Ethernet boards operate somewhat differently than the parallel port boards in the fact that you don't actually run a base thread, only a servo thread. How this all stacks up I don't know, but I'm wondering if theres any sense in trying a standard low-latency kernel or if its possible with LinuxCNC.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Feb 2018 16:24 #106713 by andypugh
Try running the latency tests with the low-latency kernel.

It might work, but I would be surprised.

More
28 Feb 2018 21:45 #106766 by rodw