5i25/6i25 Setup with Gecko g540

More
28 Feb 2018 03:20 - 28 Feb 2018 03:20 #106684 by krislogan
So I have been using Linuxcnc for a couple of years with software stepping and a Gecko g540. Been working get, no miss steps, always produces what I throw at it.

I am moving towards more production, so will be using the machine more often so I wanted to add in some robustness with hardware stepping.

Every since I installed the 6i25 (and flashed it with the g540x2.bit) I can not for the life of me get the machine to run for longer then a couple of minutes. Start it up everything works fine, start cutting and the machine randomly stops, no errors it is literally like someone has pressed the F2 button. In fact the debug looks exactly like that.

I thought it might be the g540 so I disconnected from the 6i25 and reconnected to my parport and did some test cuts, not a problem. Thought it was the system so I dropped back to my "Fallback" OS that I no is rock solid for Linuxcnc, same problem.

Can anybody help, this is really got my going crazy. If I run Linuxcnc in "sim-mode" (g540 off) it also behaves the same way. Can it be a timing/watchdog issue?

I have some issues with the g540 and the 6i25 with the y2 tandem not jogging but I just increased the "Step On Time" to 2000 and it all works fine. Thought this might of been the problem so used the default settings but it still behaves like someone is coming and pressing F2.

I have attached my stripped down hal and ini files for people to look at. I have some other issues with estop in and hy-vfd control but I will deal with them later, as they are just fiddly stuff.

Would really like to get this working and not have wasted $200 on the 6i25 card (australia, crap exchange, high shipping costs).

Thank you in advance :D
Attachments:
Last edit: 28 Feb 2018 03:20 by krislogan.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Feb 2018 08:33 #106688 by rodw
Seeing you are another Aussie, I had a look. :silly: