Is it possible to compensate for offset tool path?

More
28 Nov 2018 19:33 #121542 by uptown47
Hi all,
I'm completely new to the CNC world but had a go at making my first cut today!

I just had a thin MDF blank and wanted to carve my wife's name into it as a test.

Unfortunately the tool path was a good way away from the 0 of X and Y (see photo)

I haven't got my 'home' switches working yet so I just took them out of StepConf for now. So I put the tool at the bottom left-hand position of the wood and 'homed' all the axis but when I run the machine it drives diagonally away (to get to the first cut).

I ended up manually offsetting the starting position just so it would cut the wood and I know that this is my cock-up in the software as I didn't start the cut at 0. However, I wondered if there was a way to compensate for this from within LinuxCNC?

I saw the "G54" variables and weren't sure if these were the first 'cut' position?? And, if so, if I could somehow tell LinuxCNC that the machine is already at the first cut position and to just lower the spindle and start the cut?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Cheers

John :)
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Nov 2018 19:59 #121544 by Todd Zuercher
Using the machine coordinates is one way to move what will be carved to any position on the machine.

For example if you wanted something that would carve at X50 Y120 to be done at X10 Y10. You would set the G54 offset to X-40 Y-110. This can be done either with the touch off button or by using the g-code command G10L2P1X-40Y-110.
The following user(s) said Thank You: uptown47

More
28 Nov 2018 20:58 - 28 Nov 2018 20:58 #121552 by uptown47

Using the machine coordinates is one way to move what will be carved to any position on the machine.