linuxcnc usb and ethernet

More
02 Jan 2019 22:57 #123373 by Gavin_09_az
Hi I ahve 2 questions.

I am new to linuxcnc and am wondering if it supports usb or ethernet interface. I understand that linux cnc has been a parallel port interface, but I don't know if that has changed I am hoping to build a cnc router setup based on ClearPath by Teknic motors. These servo motors have integrated motion controller and drive, and are connected via a hub (www.teknic.com/products/clearpath-brushless-dc-servo-motors/).
My second question is: is there anyone with any experience using linuxcnc and ClearPath motors and what do they think.

if there any forum entries or other links that I should look at please let me know

Gavin

Many Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Jan 2019 01:45 #123382 by dberndt
Replied by dberndt on topic linuxcnc usb and ethernet
I don't have any clearpath experience, but I've watched a fair number of videos about their product and I guess in the linuxcnc world I'd just ask why bother?

Is your machine going to be big enough and it's use to be of a professional type nature such that it would be appropriate to consider the price of putting servos on it? If so why not consider a servo system with linuxcnc closing the loop?

The more devices you have closing the loop, the more things you have to mess with, tune, make talk to one another, etc. Having just one controller in command of the whole system has significant value imo.

If the machine is of the smaller nature, then maybe clearpath SD's make sense, I can't imagine a scenario in which something like the SC with an additional motion controller you wouldn't be using would be useful in a linuxcnc environment.

More
03 Jan 2019 04:49 #123388 by InMyDarkestHour
In a Nutshell:

USB motion control no.

Mesa motion control with Ethernet yes.
The following user(s) said Thank You: tivoi, iancaz

More
06 Jan 2019 19:38 #123624 by andypugh