Staubli RX60 project

More
24 Jan 2019 18:38 #124747 by JonathanHancock
Hi all.

I'm lucky enough to have recently acquired an old Staubli RX60 CR robot. This is an ‘upgrade’ from my other robot, a Puma 560. Neither of them have a controller although I have successfully used a Galil Motion Controller for the Puma. There are two areas that I need help with regarding the RX60; finding suitable parts to drive the robot (servo amplifiers etc) and then controlling it in coordinated motion, preferably using some form of GUI or teach-pendant. It seems that the STMBL cards could be suitable, but I'm unable to find information on where you can buy them from, or the part-assembled PCB's at least.

I see that 'Wireline' has done exactly what I'm trying to do which is encouraging! It would be amazing if I could get some help and advice with this in general, particularly as I'm new to LinuxCNC but have a pretty good understanding of hardware. It's a personal project so I have a very limited budget, but lots of enthusiasm!

Jonathan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jan 2019 13:07 #124807 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Staubli RX60 project
I have helped a bit with an STMBL retrofit of a Staubli, and it would be a very good choice of drive except for one thing: The biggest and most expensive part of the drive is no longer in production. So there basically are none of the drives available.

I have PCBs, you can have them for free, but unless you can find the IRAM256-2067A2 then the PCB is no good.

There is a plan to redesign around a new power stage. I don't know where that work has got to. Part of the problem here is that the designers of the project have all the drives that they personally need now.

More
25 Jan 2019 13:56 #124811 by JonathanHancock
Hi Andy. Thanks for your reply. I'll have a look for the IRAM256-2067A2, but it seems like you've already done this to no avail. Do you have six PCB's just in case please?