Need help with sudden lose of upward movement of Z axis during a cut

More
10 Apr 2019 20:48 - 10 Apr 2019 21:07 #130621 by sandman92k
I am still learning all this... today i was surfacing a board, during the 3rd pass something failed, and the z aixs would only move in the down direction not up... I emergency stopped and started looking at what went wrong..

so i powered the system both computer and controller down and started checking, z axis would only move in down direction when i went to jog it..

i checked the config and nothing changed, i even tried to test move the z axis in the config and same thing only would move down..\

i changed the motor and same thing...

i turned everything off and cursed at it and put it in time out for about 15 min..

i went back out and plugged the z axis connector into the x axis to see if it would work, and sure enough it worked, so i plugged the x axis into the z axis and yup it worked both directions too.

i put everything back together and z axis is moving in both directions..

could someone point me to where i should check to see if it is possible what caused this.. just be for warned i am not really good with computers and even worse with Linux that controls my controller..

PS.. i was making deeper passes on the surfacing cut than i have ever done before, is it possible the system over heated?

Is this a pc computer issue or
A cnc controller issue???

I am using a probitix cnc controller and there pc system, it uses Ubuntu linuxcnc and no way of updating the system, it has no internet connection
Last edit: 10 Apr 2019 21:07 by sandman92k.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Apr 2019 22:00 #130627 by Clive S
I would check the cable to the Z dir on the driver for a break. If it happens again check the voltage on the dir connection when you jog it up and down as it should be about 5v in one direction and 0v in the other.

More
10 Apr 2019 23:12 #130632 by sandman92k