Amplifier with Geckodriver G320X

More
11 Apr 2019 00:37 #130635 by twatchorn
Hi I am very new to CNC and drivers etc,

I am working on converting a wood working machine with DC servo drive motors on the X and Y axis.
I have GeckoDrive G320X DC brush servo motor drives.
The break out board is a DB25-1205F

When I test an axis in “Stepconfig” and do not have the drivers connected to the breakout board I get TTL signal at the “step” connection for X and Y ≈ 4.5v
When I connect X driver to the breakout board the signal drops to ≈ 2.2v. This is the case when driver and motor powered or not powered up. The signal at the Y step connection still stays at ≈ 4.5v.
The same thing happens when I connect the Y axis.

I have had the drivers drive the motors using a signal generator with saw-tooth wave set at 5v peak.

I have tested out a stepper motor with its driver on the bench at it has ≈ 4.5v signal and drives okay.

Am I needing an amplifier of some sort on the X & Y signals? The DB25-1205F broad does not appear to have a built in amplifier to turn on.

Any help appreciated - I am from mechanical background so please use terms that a dummy can understand!!
Thanks Trevor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Apr 2019 12:35 #130658 by pl7i92
Did you stabelised the 5V 2200uF elko
dont use the USB
and also did you use the Green Board not the Blue
as well is there 12V connected to the Input Spindle Terminal

You may got a USB Fake one as so many did got in troubel

im in Europa Germany so only controled ones are sold from Trusted sellers its 12Euros not 4

More
11 Apr 2019 19:57 #130692 by twatchorn
Thanks for your response, The BOB I have does not had as much on it as in the video you sent.
Attachments:

More
12 Apr 2019 01:25 #130708 by tommylight
That is a very slow BOB, you'd be better off without it, just wire parallel port to the Geckos and be done with it.