Linuxcnc and cheap chinese laser engraver

More
09 Jun 2019 02:20 #136335 by Hdonly
Brand new on the forum. I should start by saying that I know nothing about CNC. I bought one of these cheap Chinese laser engravers and found out that the software is Windows only. I have no Windows computers. I have been using Ubuntu for the last several years. I read somewhere that Linuxcnc could be used to operate these engravers. But just now I read that Linuxcnc does not support USB connections. The engraver is a USB Arduino control board. Any suggestions about software if no go on Linuxcnc?

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jun 2019 05:29 #136348 by stevec
It could possibly be running grbl github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Using-Grbl, it is worth an experiment trying to control it with one of the gui's written for grbl.

All of the Chinese laser cutters I have seen, and the one I own have had the original electronics + motor drivers junked and been converted to grbl or linuxcnc

More
09 Jun 2019 08:59 #136360 by pl7i92
it will shure run wit thew K40 board or this very cheep laser nonames
all can be converted to standard parport
but you are looking for a Aduino grbl usb conversion

like estlcam
K40 Whisperer

More
09 Jun 2019 11:28 #136365 by Hdonly
Thanks for the replies. I see I have stepped into a whole new world. I sure have a lot of studying to do just to figure out what questions to ask. Haha- back to school for this old dog (been retired for 10 years). My nephew is coming to visit tomorrow for a week. He has operated several large CNC milling machines before and is now managing the computer network system for his parent's business. And he thought he was taking a vacation. After his visit, I am sure I will be able to ask some more informed questions. Back to reading about Arduino, grbl and such. I ran across some info about "LaserWeb" that I need to read more about.

More
09 Jun 2019 11:39 #136367 by BigJohnT