Parallel port keeps changing address!

More
20 Aug 2019 17:12 - 20 Aug 2019 17:14 #142624 by polobear189
Greetings fellow linuxcncers

New Linux user, had a slight difficulty setting up the machine but apart from that loving Linux over windows/mach3

Got it all running with a Netmos PCI card , the computer also has an onboard pport, so I'm set up as running 2 pports even though the onboard is all set as unused.

It all works dreamily but when I power the system down and back up again I find the pc doesn't mimic the status of the machine, i.e estop. A quick lspci -vv gives me the address of the card I'm using and lo and behold it's changed addresses, normally it switches between 0x4010 and 0x1010, it works with both addresses perfectly it's just annoying having to change it most times I power on the system.

I'm new to Linux but this doesn't seem like a common problem.

Is there any way to give the card a fixed address?

Many thanks if anyone can help!
Andy
Last edit: 20 Aug 2019 17:14 by polobear189.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Aug 2019 17:22 #142625 by tommylight
There is a setting in BIOS that has to be changed to prevent that from happening, something with assigning IRQ or resources has to be set to manual, not automatic.
Have no access to computers right now ( well last few days, to damn bussy so doing everything on the phone ) so i can not check.
Have a look and try to find that, or tell us what make and model the PC is, maybe i can drop by my shop later and check.

More
20 Aug 2019 18:26 #142633 by Todd Zuercher
You may also be able to set it up in your Linuxcnc config to use parport 0, parport 1,... rather than the explicit addresses. That way it doesn't matter if the PCI parallel port changes address.

More
20 Aug 2019 19:48 - 20 Aug 2019 19:49 #142639 by polobear189
Thanks everyone for the help,it seems to be the BIOS settings,only thought you could select a pport as being active not "dont assign one":evil: