What's the easiest way to write and load a simple program?

More
28 Sep 2019 21:44 - 30 Sep 2019 19:37 #146507 by Scot
So I've got some experience with the FAGOR controller programming language and I want to write a first program in LinuxCNC to test the axis I have set up on the lathe I'm retrofitting. On the industrial controllers the programming is kind of simple. You navigate to the editor, edit it if necessary and then load it. But on AXIS, I'm a bit confused where to start when creating a new program.

What I'm attempting to do is just a simple, single axis program moving in rapids and G1 programmed speeds, back and forth to see how it performs. But I'm not sure how what process to use.

What program is used to make the .ngc file that is used for a g-code file? And when I get this file built, do I just drag and drop it into the /usr/share/linuxcnc/ncfiles directory?

Thanks in advance.

Scot
Last edit: 30 Sep 2019 19:37 by Scot.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2019 23:34 #146515 by tommylight
Linuxcnc is a machine controller, not a CAM software, so you need something else to generate the tool paths.
In your case for testing and simple programs, use any text editor, write the code, save it to wherever you want, with the .ngc extension, open it from Linuxcnc, press play and watch in amazement.

More
29 Sep 2019 00:01 #146522 by BigJohnT
As Tommy said a text editor is what you use to create a G code file.

You never put anything into any of the base directories, only in your /home/username/linuxcnc/nc_files or other if configured differently.

At a minimum you need a G0 move and a M2 program end, for feed moves you must set a feed rate.
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/gcode/g-code.html#gcode:g0
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/html/gcode/m-code.html#mcode:m2-m30

In Axis if an editor is specified in the ini configuration file then you can edit a loaded file, otherwise for a new file just create it with the text editor.